FAQs about the Documents app

There are four different statuses for documents in the Documents app. Depending on the document type, you'll have different action options for each status.

  • No Document: means a document has not been submitted

  • Requires Action: a document has been created or submitted, but requires a signature or is being approved

  • Uploaded: a document is uploaded to the system, and you can request action from the employee

  • Completed: a document has been successfully uploaded or signed

To remove a document, please follow the steps below: 

  1. Log in to your Zenefits administrator account. 
  2. Click on a name from the Directory app. 
  3. Click on Documents. 
  4. Next to the document you wish to delete, click on the trash can icon. 
  5. Confirm that you wish to delete the document. 
OR 
  1. Log in to your Zenefits administrator account. 
  2. Click on the Documents app. 
  3. Select a folder, then a worker.
  4. Next to the document you wish to delete, click on the trash can icon. 
  5. Confirm that you wish to delete the document. 

FAQs About Deleting Documents 


Why do I have to contact Customer Support to have this document deleted? 
Any sensitive document request is handled on a case-by-case basis. Our support team will review the process with you to help you understand all consequences of the deletion. 

Why do I have to agree to delete this document? 
Deleting documents may have consequences both for the company and the individual, so we've added the agreement as a precaution, since this action can’t be undone.


What if I delete a document but realize I actually need it later? Is it gone for good?
Once you delete a document, you will not be able to access it again in Zenefits. To recover the document, please reach out to our support team.

Any document name in blue indicates that you can click on it to preview the document. Any document name in gray means that there is no document yet, so there's nothing to view!

The Documents app is split into two parts:

  • Worker Documents: where you can organize, view, download, and upload HR, payroll, performance documents and more
  • Company Documents: where you can organize, view, download, and upload documents to be shared with your staff
To view documents for an individual worker, you can select a document folder type, then choose a worker. To preview a document, click on the name of the document and it will automatically start downloading. If the name of the document is not linked and does not begin to download, then there is no document available. The status bar on the right will show you what actions need to be taken with the document.

Clicking on See All Files under the worker's name will bring you to the Documents section of the individual profile.

If you'd like to download all of your workers' documents, please contact Zenefits Customer Care.

Once bulk download has been enabled for you, follow the steps below.

  1. Log into your Zenefits admin account.
  2. Click on Documents.
    If you don't have the Documents app, you can go to the Company Profile app.
  3. Click the Download All link in the upper right hand corner.
  4. Click Send Download.
Zenefits will then send you an email with a link. Once you click the link in the email, all the files will download into a zip folder.


Admins with the proper permissions can upload documents to individual workers in the Documents app, or through the individual profile.

On the Worker Documents tab of the Documents app, click into a document category folder. Click on the Upload Document button in the upper right corner of the page. Fill in all the necessary information in the pop up window then Add.

Or, you can navigate to the Company Documents section of the Documents app to create a folder to organize documents.

Keep in mind, uploading a document won’t replace any documents that have already been generated in Zenefits. For example, if you send someone an offer letter through Zenefits, uploading an existing offer letter for them won’t cancel or revoke the Zenefits-generated offer letter. 

Primary admins and full company admins can access all documents in the Worker Documents section of the Documents appWhen you upload a document to the Company Documents section, you can decide who else will be able to access it:

  • Entire Departments
  • Entire Locations
  • Specific people

If you need to revoke access to a Company Document, you can do so by taking these steps:

  1. Click on the Documents app from your admin dashboard
  2. Select the Company Documents tab, then locate the document for which you need to revoke access (additionally, you can mirror these actions for an entire folder as well)
  3. Click on the three stacked dots for the document you'd like to edit.
  4. Click the X next to a person's name or department or location tag to remove their access to the document.

The Company Documents section can be used to manage and distribute documents to specific people, or across your whole organization.


Upload Document

Once you're ready to start uploading documents, you'll click the Upload Document button. In the window that pops up, you'll take the following actions.
  • Drag the file(s) into the dotted box to add to Zenefits
  • Name the document(s)
  • Add the document(s) to an existing folder (or create a new folder)
  • Choose which Department(s), Location(s), or specific people have access (if no one is included, only you will have access)
  • Select if you'd like to notify anyone who is granted access (they will receive a task to their Zenefits dashboard)
  • Check if future workers who fit into the filter will automatically be included.

Create Folder

If you'd like to organize your documents into folders, click the Create Folder button. Name the folder, then select who will have what type of access (view or edit).

Still need our help? Our support team is waiting to help you. Contact us