How do I delete an employee in Zenefits?

If an administrator erroneously creates a new employee, an employee decides to decline a job offer, or a manager is able to perform the intended actions directly for their reportee (for the list of functions available to cross-organization managers see here), the administrator can delete the employee from their employee list.

To delete an employee from Zenefits, ensure you are deleting the intended profile:

  1. Log into your administrator dashboard.
  2. Click on the Directory app.
  3. Click the name of the employee who should be deleted.
  4. If the employee:
    • Has registered their account but not completed Initial Insurance Enrollment: Click Delete Employee Record in the Actions list. A pop-up will confirm that all employee records will be deleted.
    • Has registered their account and completed Initial Insurance Enrollment: Click Terminate in the Actions list. This will ensure that the employee is not enrolled in benefits.
    • If an employee who is enrolled in insurance is deleted, work directly with your broker or carrier to remove them from insurance.
    • Has not registered their account: Click Revoke Offer. A pop-up will confirm that all employee records will be deleted.
  5. To continue with deleting the employee record completely, click Delete Employee.

If an employee is mistakenly deleted, please contact Support.

Was this article helpful?  

Still need our help? Our support team is waiting to help you. Contact us