FAQs About Hiring

Yes, you can attach documents to send with an agreement template and can edit remove, or manage the attachment(s) at any time.

Manage the attachment(s) by following the steps below:

  1. Log in to Zenefits.
  2. From the admin dashboard, click the Hiring app.
  3. Click Settings ta.
  4. In the Documents & Templates section, click the edit icon next to the template you want to add an attachment to.
  5. Check the Include Attachments box on the edit screen then Add an attachment.
  6. Click Save and Return.

If you sent a request for someone to sign a document in Zenefits and they have not yet signed, yourself or other administrators cannot continue to send requests for the same document.

As soon as the individual with the request logs into Zenefits, and they will be prompted to sign the document before they can complete any other actions.

To check on a new hire's onboarding status:

  1. Log in to Zenefits.
  2. From the admin dashboard, click the 'Hiring' app.
  3. Scroll down to the 'New Hire Onboarding' section.
  4. The progress of their onboarding will be displayed under their name.
  5. For more detail, click the info (i) icon next to the new hire's name.

If someone has been added to the Zenefits system more than once, please use the 'Delete' option to remove the duplicate profile.

Everyone who has completed onboarding will have a status of 'Full-Time' or 'Part-Time'.

To resend the unique registration link for a new hire who hasn't yet begun or completed onboarding:

  1. Click See All under the Workers section in your administrator dashboard, or click on the Directory app.
  2. Click on the name in the list, then click the Actions drop-down menu at the top of the page.
  3. Click Resend Invitation.
  4. A confirmation pop-up will appear letting you know we've re-sent another email.

Registration emails are sometimes filtered into Spam folders, so have the individual check there if they are not seeing the email(s).

Registration links can't be resent for anyone who was synced from payroll and not hired directly in Zenefits. Please contact Zenefits Customer Care in order to resend registration links for them.

An employment offer sent to a new hire can be revoked up until 30 days after the start date, even if the individual has completed onboarding.

To revoke an employment offer:

  1. Log in to Zenefits.
  2. From the admin dashboard, click the Hiring app.
  3. Scroll down to the Offers Sent or New Hire Onboarding section.
  4. Click the info icon (i) next to the person's name.
  5. Click the Revoke button.
  6. Once you click Revoke Offer, a pop-up box will appear and you will need to type their first name into a box before you can revoke their offer. Once the offer has been revoked, their profile will be deleted.

If the current date is more than 30 days after the start date, the offer can't be revoked. Instead, they must be terminated. Remember that only completed offers can be revoked.

If the Edit Offer option is visible, the offer isn't completed. Administrators cannot "unselect" the offer letter to remove it either - the individual must go through the termination and re-hiring process.

Once a new hire registers, finishes onboarding, and authorizes the background check, Zenefits will submit the check for processing. Background checks can generally take 2-9 business days to complete. For more information on potential delays, see this page.

Administrators can only resend a new offer letter to new hires who haven't finished onboarding and have not signed their original offer letter. Once the offer letter has been signed, a new offer letter cannot be sent.

As an alternative, you can use the change letter feature to communicate in letter format, any changes to job title, pay rate, etc.

To edit and resend an unsigned offer letter to someone, follow the steps on this page, and an edited offer will be sent to the individual.

You can view everyone who has not completed registration (and resend the registration link, if desired) from your Zenefits admin account.

  1. Log in to Zenefits.
  2. From the admin dashboard, click the Hiring app.
  3. Scroll down to the Offers Sent section.
  4. Click the info (i) icon next to the new hire's name.
  5. A list of tasks will appear, the ones in green with a check mark have been completed. 

Currently, Zenefits supports only hourly or salary compensation methods, and does not provide a way to hire workers paid solely by commissions, per diem or per-piece ("piecework"), or other such compensation methods.

  • Workers who are hired in Zenefits must have either a base salaried or hourly rate.
  • Workers without base compensation may be hired, but must be assigned a $1 salary or hourly rate. Their actual compensation must be handled directly in payroll.
  • However, companies who use Zenefits Payroll can manually add additional (e.g., non-salaried or hourly) compensation, such as commissions, directly to workers' paystubs.

To edit or resend an offer letter if the person has not signed and accepted the offer:

  1. Log in to Zenefits.
  2. From the admin dashboard, click the Hiring app.
  3. On the Overview page, scroll down to the Offers Sent or New Hire Onboarding section.
  4. Click the Edit Offer button next to the person whose offer letter you want to edit.

Yes. Zenefits allows administrators to hire someone without requiring an offer letter. At the end of the hiring flow in Send Offer, administrators will see the option to send the registration link or to have Zenefits send it directly to the individual.

Still need our help? Our support team is waiting to help you. Contact us