Maryland Paid Sick Leave and Safe Leave Law
Maryland Paid Sick Leave Law:
Maryland’s General Assembly overrode Gov. Larry Hogan’s veto on January 12 to pass the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act (“The Act”), which requires businesses with 15 or more employees to offer paid sick and safe leave. Additionally, employers with 14 or fewer employees will also have to provide employees with unpaid sick leave, at the minimum.
The leave will accrue at a minimum rate of 1 hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked by the employee.
While employees may carry over up to 40 hours of paid sick and safe leave, employers may cap leave usage at 64 hours per year.
What is Zenefits Doing?
We have published a blog post where customers can get additional information on the new law, including eligibility, notice, and record-keeping requirements. Feel free to share this post with admins if you get questions, and please reach out to us if you are planning on sending any external comms.
To Whom Does it Apply?
Employers with 15 or more employees during the preceding year, including part-time, full-time, temporary, and seasonal workers, must offer paid sick leave to eligible employees.
Employers with 14 or fewer employees are also required to provide at least unpaid sick leave to qualifying employees.
The Act goes into effect on February 12, 2018. Employees will be able to use accrued paid sick leave beginning on the 106th calendar day after the start of their employment.
Employers must provide notice to each employee of their entitlement to paid sick leave, and the rate of accrual, by the effective date.
The Maryland Commissioner of Labor and Industry will make model notices available on their website.