Skip to main content

 

 

YOURPEOPLE, INC.

Time & Attendance Geolocation

Zenefits Time & Attendance gives administrators the option to have workers share their location when clocking in/out through their mobile device. When enabled, it will ask the worker to share their location in order to continue. If the team member chooses to not share their location or the location is unable to be found, we will not block them from clocking in/out. In this situation, we will show that no location was shared on their timesheet.

We can support:

  • Enabling geolocation tracking for some or all people on the Web Timekeeper reporting method
  • All workers who clock in/out via their mobile device, will be able to share their location while using the Zenefits app
  • We will record the estimated location that the worker clocked in/out from
  • Locations will be visible on the worker's timesheet

We cannot support:

  • Blocking workers from clocking in unless they are in a certain radius (this is called geofencing)
  • Recording location for workers that are self-reporting or use the iPad as their reporting method

To enable/disable geolocation:

  1. Click on the Time & Attendance app.
  2. Select the Settings tab.
  3. Go to Time Reporting from the left-hand  menu.
  4. Click on the pencil to edit.
  5. Toggle the switch to enable geolocation.
  6. Click Save to lock in the change.

To customize geolocation per individual:

  1. From the Time & Attendance app, select the People tab.
  2. Select 1 or more workers that you want to customize the setting for.
  3. Click on the pencil to edit.
  4. Toggle the switch to enable or disable.
  5. Click Save to lock in the change.

NOTE: admins are the only ones who can enable/disable geolocation.

How it looks for the worker:

  1. The worker clocks in.
  2. The worker confirms project code if enabled. If not, skip to step 3.
  3. The worker gets request to enable geolocation.
  4. Once enabled, the worker confirms the location.
  5. If the worker's location cannot be found, they will see an option to continue without geolocation.

How it looks for the admin:

  • Hours will appear on the individual's time sheet.
  • Upon hover, the admin will see a map of the location.
  • If location is not shared, the geolocation has a strikethrough.
  • For an estimated address, download the Hours report.

*Zenefits is not responsible for the accuracy of the location being reported, when geolocation is enabled.

  • Was this article helpful?